ISCM Polish Section

The Polish Society for Contemporary Music was founded in 1923 as a Polish Section of the International Society for Contemporary Music (comprising more than 40 countries) which is affiliated with the UNESCO. It is non-profit organization.

Its members are composers, performers, musicologists and new music lovers.

The Society is the oldest and the most important association of this kind in Poland.

The first President of the Society was Karol Szymanowski. Other Presidents was Zbigniew Drzewiecki, Artur Malawski, Witold Lutosławski, Włodzimierz Kotoński, Zygmunt Krauze, Jacek Rogala and Adam Sławiński. Since September 2010 the President of ISCM Polish Section is composer and conductor Maciej Żółtowski.

Among honorary members of the Society worth are to mention Elżbieta Chojnacka, Wojciech Kilar, Jan Krenz, Tadeusz Strugała, Zygmunt Krauze.

The aims of the Society are popularization of contemporary music (festivals), promotion of young musicians (contests) and promotion of creative talents of composers (competitions).

Main events organized by the Society:

  • the International Kazimierz Serocki Composers’ Competition (since 1984)
  • the 20th Century Music Contest for Young Performers (since 1992)
  • the Audio Art Festival (since 1993),
  • Festival “Photographic scores” (since 2009)
  • Festival for children “Music and play in Warsaw” (since 2009)

In 1992 ISCM Polish section has organized The ISMC World Music Days.

In 2014 ISCM Polish Section will be organizing The ISMC World Music Days again. Festival will take place in Wroclaw from 3rd – 12th October 2014.

All  informations  about WMD you may find on the  site: