The Polish Society for Contemporary Music was founded in 1923 as a Polish Section of the International Society for Contemporary Music (comprising more than 40 countries) which is affiliated with the UNESCO. It is non-profit organisation.

Its members are composers, performers, musicologists and new music lovers.
The Society is the oldest and the most important association of this kind in Poland.

The first President of the Society was Karol Szymanowski. Other Presidents was Zbigniew Drzewiecki, Artur Malawski, Witold Lutosławski, Włodzimierz Kotoński, Zygmunt Krauze, Jacek Rogala and Adam Sławiński. Since September 2010 the President of ISCM Polish Section is composer and conductor Maciej Zółtowski.

Among honorary members of the Society worth are to mention Elżbieta Chojnacka, Wojciech Kilar, Jan Krenz, Tadeusz Strugała, Zygmunt Krauze.

The aims of the Society are popularisation of contemporary music (festivals), promotion of young musicians (contests), promotion of creative talents of composers (competitions) and education (courses).

ISCM is non-profit Society.